Christmas Traditions

DSC_0167 DSC_0171

You guys! Living vicariously through your child is totally awesome! One of the things I always wanted as a child was to make a gingerbread house. (you know retroactively, once I was old enough to know what gingerbread houses were, thanks to ancient copies of Good Housekeeping that sat around my grandmothers house.) Rohit is not a big Christmas person – he likes the tree and a few Christmas carols but I get the distinct impression that he thinks I’m going a little overboard every now and then – but he humours me, especially when I frame it as something Aditi would enjoy.

So this weekend we got a gingerbread house and it was as much fun as I thought it would be  for Aditi and also for me. I wish I’d thought it through a bit and iced the walls and roof before assembling the house but I think the end product came out really nicely (proud mother alert) and I managed not to micromanage too much. Definitely a new Christmas tradition.

DSC_0195

Leave a Reply

